Let your soul guide you

Often, upon first waking up in the morning I am given my writing assignment for the day.  When I awoke this morning I was in the purity of my soul, still in the surrendered state of sleep, but somewhat conscious.  I allowed myself to stay in that surrendered state and consciously experience the luscious feeling of being at one.  As the conscious surrender continued I felt like I was in a warm liquid bath, being embraced by unconditional love.  Then another part of me thought, I “should” get up and start my day.  As soon as I had that thought I started to come out of surrender.  I left the state of oneness when my ego spoke up and wanted to take over.  I now had become two – I entered back into duality (ego & soul).  I could actually feel my soul not wanting to take the back seat.  Then I felt/heard the words to a Sting song….”Let Your Soul Be Your Pilot”.  I wondered what I would choose to do if I let my soul guide me.  What would I choose to do if I allowed my soul to be in the driver’s seat and sent my ego to the back seat?  I immediately became aware that I would make very different choices, not only throughout my day but in the direction of my life.

So, I allowed my soul to take the driver’s seat and gracefully got out of bed and effortlessly glided downstairs.  I mindfully made my coffee and chose to sit down at my laptop to share my given writing assignment.  I am realizing that in order for my soul to be my guide I have to consciously choose it.  As I am writing this I am aware of the ego wanting to take over, it does not like being in the back seat.  I gently try to ease its fear (it is full of fear), I assure it that it has a purpose and will not disappear completely, but that it should get comfortable with being in the back seat.

How can you tell if you are allowing your soul to guide you?  If your soul is not guiding you than what is? 

 

(Let Your Soul Be Your Pilot video by Sting)

Let your soul be your pilot
Let your soul guide you
He’ll guide you well

When you’re down and they’re counting
When your secrets all found out
When your troubles take to mounting
When the map you have leads you to doubt
When there’s no information
And the compass turns to nowhere that you know well

Let your soul be your pilot
Let your soul guide you
He’ll guide you well

When the doctors failed to heal you
When no medicine chest can make you well
When no counsel leads to comfort
When there are no more lies they can tell
No more useless information
And the compass spins
The compass spins between heaven and hell

Let your soul be your pilot
Let your soul guide you
He’ll guide you well

And your eyes turn towards the window pane
To the lights upon the hill
The distance seems so strange to you now
And the dark room seems so still

Let your pain be my sorrow
Let your tears be my tears too
Let your courage be my model
That the north you find will be true
When there’s no information
And the compass turns to nowhere that you know well

Let your soul be your pilot
Let your soul guide you
Let your soul guide you
Let your soul guide you upon your way…

4 thoughts on “Let your soul guide you

  1. Pingback: Full Canvas « tinmaddog

Enjoy my blog and leave a comment and/or start a discussion if you wish to do so!

