Freedom is just another word for nothing left to lose

  • 1960100_10152249863249866_1330912405_n

One of my favorite sayings is from the Janis Joplin song, “Me & Bobby Mcgee”; Freedom is just another word for nothing left to lose. .

What that line means to me is when you have nothing left to lose you are free.  In other words when you are really practicing the art of detachment you are free from attachment.  But when I started thinking about the meaning of attachment and detachment practiced in our society, attachment is a positive and detachment is a negative.

I have always felt that the best things in life are free.  Love for example has to be free or it’s not real. It cannot be confined or controlled.

I believe the soul is free to come to earth and free when it leaves the earth.

I became aware that I was a soul having a human experience at a very young age.  To me the soul is our eternal self and our personality/ego is our impermanent or temporary self.  The soul to me is pure; it does not need to be “fixed” in any way.  Maybe somewhere along the way as we are pulled from the spiritual self into the secular self we begin to forget that are born worthy, whole and complete.  So begins the process of trying to prove our worth.  We start to put conditions on ourselves and others.  Our love becomes conditional.

I have always been drawn to nature and to animals.  I did not feel any pretense (charade, sham, façade, make-believe, deceit, deception, simulation) from nature or animals.  Unfortunately I did feel strong pretense coming from a lot of people in my surroundings.  I did not know how to pretend but it seemed that being natural and real was not going to be accepted.  It seemed that the goal of my elders was to teach me the ways of the secular world and how to best fit into it.  But somewhere within me I knew this could mean a diminishing of my soul.  I wondered if there was a way to be in the world but not of the world.

It seems to me that the only evolving man has to do is to return to his true nature, to what is eternal and never-changing.  We would not lose our uniqueness if we were to live from the soul.  All souls are unique.

To me evolving is not about learning more, attaining more, becoming more or complicating and trying to perfect what is already perfect.  Why does man try to make a name for his self?  What does that even mean?  To me evolving is to return to what is natural in us, our soul. When we know we are already worthy, we have nothing to prove.  We can be our true self and from that true self express ourselves and bring light into the world.  When we do not feel worthy we are always trying to prove that worth and that is what leads us into temptation (thinking that we will find something outside ourselves to make us feel alive and worthy).   What if we all knew we are already enough, that we did not have to improve ourselves?  What if success was knowing that we already have within us all the answers that we seek.  What if we could relax into life knowing that we are a soul and will be naturally nurtured by life itself?  If we did not take more than we needed for our own survival, would there be enough to go around?  Would anyone be starving or cold without a place to call home?

There is nothing I need to add to my soul to make it better.  There is nothing that my soul seeks to find.  It is whole and complete.  It is my conditioned self, the false self that on some level bought into a bill of goods being sold, the message you have to make something of yourself.  You have to earn your right to exist.  You have to prove your worth.   I did not hear a lot of messages that I was already myself and that I just needed to let that out into the world without changing it or improving it.

I relate in so many ways to St. Francis.  It was said that St. Francis could see beauty where others could not.  That he saw the world opposite of most, as a poem and an adventure to be explored…..

One of my favorite lines from the movie about St. Francis, “Brother Sun, Sister Moon”….

In our obsession with original sin we do often forget….original innocence. 

And I so love this outlook of St. Francis….

I have often watched the larks in the field around my home, they’re such humble modest creatures who need only a sip of water and a few berries in order to live and soar into the heavens.  One day I found myself thinking, that we too could be happy if we were content with little like the larks, if we could live as they live, singing and thanking the lord who created us. 

I wish this peace on everyone, on this lovely day.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vX2yn3qheHU

Enjoy my blog and leave a comment and/or start a discussion if you wish to do so!

